HAP Awards

The HAP is an award program in which awards are given for the successful growth and propagation of aquatic plants. The intent is to recognize and encourage the propagation of aquatic plants and foster a spirit of friendly competition and recognition of achievement.

Verification of plant reproduction must be spotted (witnessed) by a member of the CAS in good standing, who is not a member of the immediate family of the entrant. The HAP coordinator will arrange for a spotter if the entrant is unable to do so. The spotter must be shown the original plant, and the offspring or offshoots, depending on the method of reproduction. For Class F, both the flowering parent plant and the offspring must be witnessed. Good quality colour photographs or video are acceptable for spotting blooms and propagation if a spotter cannot be found in time.

Points are awarded for successful reproduction of aquatic plants, as detailed below. Plants are classified according to degree of difficulty, and successful reproduction by both vegetative and/or sexual means will be credited. Please note that credit will be given only once for any valid plant/class combination.

There are six levels of awards; the point total given for each category is the cumulative total, i.e. points are carried over when an entrant “graduates” to the next level. The awards are summarized in the following table:

Plants not listed below will be classified and credited by the HAP coordinator. Unidentified plants will be awarded points at the coordinator’s discretion, and a good-quality colour slide should be kept on file by the CAS, and all reasonable efforts will be made to identify the plant.

The criteria for reproduction are as follows:

Vegetative Reproduction:
Floating plants: Doubling the amount.
Bunch plants: Doubling the number of rooted growing stems.
Runner plants or divided plants: One healthy plant capable of living independently.
Sexual Reproduction:
Flowerings must be identified when in full bloom attached to the parent plant. For Class F there must be a healthy seedling which is sufficiently developed to be identified as the offspring of the parent plant.
Here’s a copy of the HAP Form for you to print and/or download.

Other Rules

1. Entrants must be CAS members in good standing.

2. Entry forms must be completed for points to be awarded.

3. Points will be awarded only once for each plant species spawned.

4. Once entered, the ownership of the plant may not be changed during the sixty-day assessment period.

5. Plants not listed in the HAP classification will be evaluated and classified by the HAP coordinator.

6. The HAP coordinator may alter any of the program regulations in order to maintain the quality of the program, in keeping with its objectives.


Award Levels


Level Award
Beginner Aquatic Horticulturist 30 points or 4 species, 1 from Classes B, C, or D
Aquatic Horticulturist 100 points or 12 species, 2 from Classes C or D
Senior Aquatic Horticulturist 160 points or 20 species, 2 each from Classes C and D
Expert Aquatic Horticulturist 240 points or 28 species, 1 from Class E
Master Aquatic Horticulturist 300 points or 35 species, 1 from Class F
Grand Master Aquatic Horticulturist Level 1, 350 points or 40 species
Grand Master Aquatic Horticulturist Level 2, 400 points or 45 species
Grand Master Aquatic Horticulturist Level 3, 450 points or 50 species
Grand Master Aquatic Horticulturist Level 4, 500 points or 55 species
Grand Master Aquatic Horticulturist Level 5, 550 points or 60 species
Grand Master Aquatic Horticulturist Level 6, 650 points
Grand Master Aquatic Horticulturist Level 7, 750 points
Grand Master Aquatic Horticulturist Level 8, 850 points
Grand Master Aquatic Horticulturist Level 9, 950 points
Grand Master Aquatic Horticulturist Level 10, 1050 points


Plant Classifications

Class A: 5 Points
Ammania senegalensis
Azolaceae caroliniana
Azolaceae filiculoides
Azolaceae nilocita
Azolaceae pinnata
Ceratophyllum demersum
Ceratopteris pteroides
Ceratopteris thalictroides
Crassula aquatica
Crassula helmsii
Egeria densa
Elodea canadensis
Elodea nutalli
Hippurus vulgaris
Hygrophila augustifolia
Hygrophila corymbosa
Hygrophila difformis
Hygrophila polysperma
Hygrophila lacustris
Hygrophila lancea
Lemna minor
Lemna trisulca
Prosperpinaca palustris
Riccia fluitans
Riccia fluitans
Saggitaria cuneata
Salvinia auriculata
Salvinia minima
Spirodela polyrhiza
Subularia aquatica
Synnema triflorum
Vallisneria americana
Vallisneria asiatica
Vallisneria gigantea
Vallisneria spiralis
Vallisneria tortifolia
Vesicularia dubyana
Wolffia arrhiza
Class B: 10 Points
Alternanthera philoeroides
Alternanthera reinerckii
Alternanthera roseafolia
Alternanthera violette
Bacopa amplexicaulis
Bacopa monniera
Bacopa variegatus
Brasneria schreberi
Cabomba aquatica
Cabomba australis
Cabomba caroliniana
Cabomba piauhyensis
Cabomba pulcherrima
Cardamine lyarata
Cardamine rotundifolia
Cardamine variabilis
Crinum thaianum
Echinodorus acicularis
Echinodorus tenellus
Fontinalis antipyretica
Heteranthera reniformis
Heteranthera zosterifolia
Hydrilla verticillata
Hydrocharis marsusranae
Hydrocleys nymphoides
Hydrocotyle leucopetala
Hydrocotyle vulgaris
Iris pseudacorus
Lilaeopsis novae-zelandiae
Limnobium laevigatum
Limnophila aquatica
Lobelia cardinalis
Lobelia splendens
Ludwigia arcuata
Myosotis scorp
Myriophyllum aquaticum
Myriophyllum heterphyllum
Myriophyllum hippuroides
Myriophyllum spicatum
Myriophyllum ussuriense
Najas microdon
Nelumbo lutea
Nelumbo nucifera
Nomaphila augustifolia
Nomaphila stricta
Nymphoides aquatica indica
Ponamogeton gayi
Ponamogeton malaianus
Pogostemon stellatus / Eusteralis
Rotala indica
Rotala macracantha
Rotala rotundifolia
Rotala wallachii
Samolus parvifloris
Samolus valerandii
Saururus cernuus
Stratiotes aloides
Telanthera lilacina
Typha latifolia
Uticularia exoleta
Uticularia vulgaris
Class C: 15 Points
Acorus calamus
Acorus gramineus
Acorus pusillus
Acorus variegatus
Aglaonema simplex
Aponogeton all species except those listed in Class D
Bolbitis heteroclita
Cryptocoryne all species
Cyperus papyrus
Didiplis diandrus
Echinodorus all species
Eichhornia azurea
Eichhornia crassipes
Gymnocoronis spilanthoides
Hottonia inflata
Hottonia palustris
Isoetes echinosperma
Isoetes lacustris
Marsilea brownii
Marsilea crenata
Marsilea quadrifolia
Microsorium pteropus
Nymphaea masaniello
Nymphaea tetragona
Nymphaea “Rose Arey”
Ophiopogon japonicus
Pistia stratiotes
Pogostemon helferi “Downoi”
Rorippa aquiatoca
Trapa natans
Class D: 20 Points
Aldrovanda all species
Anubias all species
Aponogeton henkelianus
Aponogeton madagascariensis
Barclaya longifolia
Bolbiltis fluviatilis
Bolbitis huedelotti
Bolbitis hydrophylla
Blyxa echinosperma
Blyxa japonica
Blyxa longifolis
Crinum natans
Lagenandra dalzelii
Lagenandra koenigii
Lagenandra ovata
Lagenandra thwaitesii
Nuphar sagittifolium
Ottelia alismoides
Spiranthus cernua
Class E:Extra points will be awarded for plants that flower, equal to the point value of the class to which the plants belong. Class F:Extra points will be awarded for plants reproduced sexually, equal to the point value of the class to which the plants belong.